GlobalFreeloaders.com - The Worldwide Free Accommodation Network
Home
New user info
Sign me up
Members
Testimonials
Contact Us
FAQ
Links
Member Database


QUICK LOGIN
Username
Password
Forgotten login details?



Support GlobalFreeloaders.com!
 
Members in Wellington / New Zealand
Accommodation information in and around Wellington.

Want to stay in Wellington for free?

SIGN UP NOW!


Rather than spend money on Wellington hotels, hostels or backpacker accommodation, take advantage of GlobalFreeloaders hospitality by staying with a fellow member for free! Not only do you get to save money - you also get to see Wellington from a local's perspective!

All these GlobalFreeloaders members are in Wellington and may be available to host you while you're in the area. All you need to do is sign up to GlobalFreeloaders.com, and you could be arranging your stay in Wellington with them in minutes!
Meet people prepared to show you the best of Wellington!
We're an easygoing Aussie/Kiwi couple with two little kids. I'm home all day with our daughters so you'd have to work around us. You're welcome to use our kitchen but would need to buy your own food. You must be good at packing your stuff away and cleaning up after yourself. We are renting a huge 3-bedroom flat in Island Bay, Wellington. We are six kilometres from the city centre and on the bus no. 1 line into town. The stunning south coast is half an hour walk south of here. We have incredible views from the 22 windows in our huge dining room of the valley and can even see the sea from here! Island Bay is like a little village on the coast with a row of great shops in the main road. There is probably everything you could need here: a postshop, Westpac ATM, lots of restaurants, a bakers, a supermarket, public toilet, a gift shop, art gallery, a plunket (state-sponsored baby care), a doctors surgery, a public library, a dive shop, DVD shop, a mechanics. The list goes on! You will probably be able to stay in our guest room if it hasn't been pre-booked by friends or family. This is a nice big room which we hope to buy a queen sized bed for in the near future. The views from this room are gorgeous! You can use our sheets, duvet and pillows while you are here. You can do some child-friendly stuff with us during the day if you are at all interested. If not, we won't be offended! We can host two adult guests at a time for around two nights in a row. Children are welcome but please don't bring any headlice with you!
Couch and/or floor space to set up your own sleeping arrangement if you've got a sleeping mat etc. I live in a two bedroom 'flat'(one half of a converted turn-of the century villa) in Thorndon, which is literally 2 seconds walk to Wellingotn city. There is a supermarket about 1 minute walk away and a gas station less than that. We are also within easy walking distance of the train station/bus depot and ferry terminals. The 'Beehive' (NZ Parliament House) is 5 minutes walk down the road, and there are also a couple of pubs in the vicinity. A 10 minute walk will get you to the Wellington waterfront and the shopping heart of Wellington, while a 10 minute bus ride will get you to the Wellingotn nightlife. We have a reasonably well-equipped kitchen, which you are free to use, so long as you provide your own food and clean up. There is also quite a bit of street parking available. This costs $4 a day. All in all, our place would be great for a stop over to or from the South Island, or as a base for a few days of exploring Wellington.
Decent-sized bedroom with comfortable double bed. We live in Karori, a western suburb of Wellington about 10 minutes out of town (non-rush hour). Public transport is great from here. We have two bathrooms (one with a shower, one with a bath), a cat and a very friendly dog who will implore you to entertain her! Nick has two daughters who stay during school holidays, so availability depends on school timetable and whether daughters are staying. However, most of the time it's just the two of us. Wellington is a great twon with lots of cheap cafes and noodle bars, not to mention the national museum Te Papa, lots of galleries, theatre and a lovely waterfront. Think a baby San Francisco. You are welcome to use our kitchen but please supply own food and drink and clean up after yourselves!! Extra points for dog entertainment!
I have a small spare room with bunks. I work shift work, so I'd probably give you a spare key and leave you to look after yourself. I'm very independant and do my own thing, i.e. work, walking after I finish work etc. I am in Upper Hutt, about 20 kms north of the capital city of NZ, Wellington. The train is around 50 minutes from Wellington and stops 10 minutes walk from my house, or a 2 minute car ride - I can pick you up. I have a shopping centre 10 mintues walk from my house with a very good Supermarket (Foodmarket) and other shops: doctors, chemist, travel agent, bakery etc. I have a modern kitchen that you would be welcome to use. And you'd be welcome to use my automatic washing machine - I know what it's like trying to keep things clean when on holiday.
I live in a busy friendly house on a steep hill overlooking central Wellington - an 'architectural curiosity'. We have stunning harbour views, central heating, and fast continuous internet access. The city centre is a 30 minute pleasant downhill walk away... buses (weekdays only) are also handy. The house is multilevel, has 'all day sun', three decks, a lawn and two outdoor baths... there's nothing quite like enjoying an evening hot bath, surrounded by the sky, the weather, and plants... and with the lights of central Wellington below! Our large inner city garden is steeply terraced, faces north (into the sun!) and is sheltered from the prevailing winds... with native plants, a cactus garden, fruit trees and vegetables.
I live on a 10 acre hobby farm in a small cottage which is new and has all facilities including internet.I have one spare bedroom (small) with a double bed.I live in a lovely location, the cottage looks out on a small lake and a tennis court.We have dogs, cats, sheep,chickens and one pet pigs.My daughter,husband and family live in a separate house on the same property.Their house is big usually with plenty of spare bedrooms. I would need to drive you to Silverstream (about 10 mins) to catch the train to Wellington. the train trip is about 30 mins.Wellington is the capital of N.Z.And of course I would meet you on your return trip.Food we could sort out when you arrive. we have home grown vegatables ,home killed meat and free range eggs.
I have a very comfortable futon sofa-bed in the lounge room (ie, living room). Feel free to eat with us and share a bottle or two of great NZ wine or cook your own meals (you'll have to buy your own). Complimentary: coffee, tea, other hot beverages and laundry. We live right in Wellington City and am only 5 minutes walk into Cuba Street which is the 'alternative/bohemian' part of town. 10 minutes walk to the main shopping drag and 10 minutes walk to the harbour. 'Cheap-&-cheerful' places to eat nearby, cafes, restaurants and bars are also only walking distances. The ferry terminal to the South Island and railway stattion is only $10 taxi ride away - about 25 minutes walk.
Dec 2010 I live in Brooklyn which is quite central to Wellington city, but far enough away to be quiet and peaceful. Brooklyn is up a hill, and it is a cheap ride on the bus. It's sometimes nice to walk in to town and get the bus home. The room that is available has a queen bed in it and faces on to the back garden, so it's private. I travelled a bit last year (2009) but mostly back in 2003, which was when i discovered the warm generosity and hospitality of other GBFer's. I believe that travellers are generally an interesting, friendly breed, so drop me a line. Reasonably short notice is OK. Please see my feedback for nice comments from nice folks.
I have a 4 bedroom house on the kapiti Coast, an hour by train to Wellington. We live at the beach with the river very close. Semi rural, though buses every 30 minutes with train connections. We have all the usual conveinces...etc kitchen. I work at the local school teaching, gym. I have a beautiful teenage girl...14years old and a seven year old, both attending local schools. We do quite a bit of yoga, enjoy organic food...but smoke too...outside. We are a bunch of wildwoman lol. Who have travel in thailand extentively, australia..Indonesia, Cambodia etc.. We are easy going with many international friends from our travels and steiner school afillations.
Large double bed room in modern home with lovely garden/rural setting in Levin. Your own bathroom just across the hall. We will provide breakfast. Within walking distance of shops, restaurants, pubs & public transport. Superb surf beach within 15 minutes drive. Wonderful area for tramping enthusiasts with easy 1 hour to 3 day walks in the nearby Tararua Ranges. Go trout fishing in the Ohau River or net whitebait in season. Catch a train or bus south to the capital city Wellington which is one and a half hours away. You can then catch a ferry to Picton in the South Island for a day trip or longer. Palmerston North, a university town, is 40 minutes drive north.




View all countries
All cities in New Zealand



Top Five in NEW ZEALAND
City Members
Auckland581
Wellington296
Christchurch228
Dunedin85
Hamilton61



[ G l o b a l F r e e l o a d e r s . c o m ]
[ Home | New user info | Sign me up | Members | Testimonials ]
[ Contact Us | FAQ | Links | Member Database ]